Star Promise (Wishes #5) by G.J. Walker-Smith

starpromiseBook NameStar Promise (Wishes #5)

Author: G.J.Walker-Smith

Pages: 397

Genre: Contemporary

My Rating: 5 out of 5

Format: Kindle eBook

Goodreads’s words: After three blissful years of living in Pipers Cove, Adam and Charli head back to the bright lights of New York. Taking on a position at a Manhattan gallery turns out to be Charli’s dream job, but just a few weeks after starting at his father’s firm, Adam realises that practising law is his worst nightmare. Biding his time is the plan. Charli has wanderlust in her soul and he’s hopeful that sooner or later, she’ll want to go home. Riding it out isn’t hard. They’re as close as they’ve ever been and every spare minute is spent hanging out with their precious little girl. Life is good – until it’s not. When fate throws them one nasty curveball after another, Charli’s confidence is shattered and her heart is broken. After weeks of trying to make sense of the grief she’s feeling, both realise she’s out of her depth. Getting out of Dodge is Charli’s preferred MO and she doesn’t disappoint, finally deciding that it’s time to leave New York. Returning to Pipers Cove is not the quick fix they were hoping for. Some things just can’t be mended, and the way she deals with that is going to change everything

My Words: La La Land is back! And I couldn’t come down from cloud nine ever since I started reading Star promise. This is one my most favourite series starting with Saving Wishes and I am sad it has come to an end – a befitting end – but an end nonetheless. Sigh! Before I start missing Adam and Charli and Bridge, I want to highlight that this book is the sweet icing on the cake of the Wishes series. It was utterly sweet, enchanting, sometimes troublesome, heartwarming and provides a surreal kind of sanctum. I can imagine myself sitting on the beaches of Tasmania watching the high waves trying to drown the setting sun. That kind of sanctum..I have to say here, though, that I have never been to Tasmania or any part of Australia for that matter and yet I am saying the above words.

The storyline is set around Secret North and Silver Dawn. Star promise reveals the events going on with Adam and Charli and Bridget that were hidden by Ryan and Bente’s story in Secret North. But there is no repetition of the story from Secret North here which I found quite refreshing. The story has been very well written and had me engaged from the beginning. I have to say though, that I had guessed the story behind the cliffhanger in the last book. I had guessed what was going on with Charli once the ballet lessons and the change in Charli’s demeanor after the ballet lessons started. And that turned out to be true in this book. Even if I had guessed the story, there was still much more to look forward to in this book.

Charli Deçarie has grown into a wonderful mature young woman. She is still that fiery, vibrant, witty self at heart. But there is a tinge of seriousness and maturity added to her sometimes naive-self. Her stories from la-la land are less scattered over the book for my statisfaction, but they are there and they intrigued and awed me enough to swoon over them. And want more. Charli goes through testing times in this book when life throws her into vicious curves that are hurtful and devastating.
Life keeps testing her by throwing attack after attack that incurs monetary losses, heartbreaks and broken, tainted relationships. When it comes to damaging her relationship with Bridget, she realizes only she has the power to stop the attacks, to stop getting hurt, to stop chasing after mirages, to stop expecting love from someone who doesn’t love or even want you in your life. And when she does put a stop to all of the above, she does it in Charli Blake style..only there is no damage to anybody’s hands this time…it’s just a damage to them. I think enough said!

Adam is still Adam. Boy wonder loves his family, worries about his responsibilities, is unhappy with his job and yet wants to stick it out for Charli and for his father. What really makes my heart melt is the endless love and devotion that he has for his girls, it’s just wonderful beyond words. I want to say that Adam is a huge support for Charli in her difficult time, but I can’t say so entirely. He is there, he listens, he reacts but it’s her battle entirely. This is one thing that bothered me about Adam and Charli’s relationship. They are so much in love. They have endured relationship problems borne out of secrets and lies in the past. And yet they keep secrets and lie to each other in this book. The incommunication might have been essential to the plot in some ways, but I didn’t particularly like the way it was achieved by making Adam and Charli hide things and lie. That said, I still loved the chemistry that continues between the two. Their continuing journey is still filled with plenty of laughter, family, and love.

And how can I forget Bridge! Bridget is just lovely! 😀 She’s so lively and funny that she lights up the page she is mentioned on. Her one-liners, amazing kid-words and out-of-the-blue confessions just made me laugh out loud many times. She is a child at heart and yet has a wise mind at such a young age. She lives in her own world, creating stories and creatures of her own. I really really adore her. Either I want to be small again and be her or I really want a kid like her!

We also see bits of Fiona and Jean-Luc too. I have to say that Jean-Luc will surprise you. There is so much more to the man than just crisp paper money and elegant suits. There are a lot of scenes going on between Jean-Luc and Charli and you might not want to miss it. Which is saying something I guess! Also, I wouldn’t rule out imagining Jean-Luc scattering glitter all over from New York to Tasmania 😉

I loved this book. The only thing I missed in this book is Alex. There is very little of Alex and that too in the end and not so much. A Wishes series book without Alex is like the last Harry Potter book without Dumbledore. Missing an important element. I just love Alex, no one can be a father like him! I wanted more of him…Heck, I want him as my dad!

It’s a 5 out of 5 from me. I wish Gemma a very good luck for her future projects and I assure that I’ll pre-order anything that comes from her typewriter! All in all this was the perfect finale to the series.

Un dénouement parfait!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

