Divergent by Veronica Roth

Divergent

Book NameDivergent

Author: Veronica Roth

Pages: 487

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

My Rating: 4 out of 5

Format: Paperback checked out from the local library

GoodReads‘ Words: In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

My words: I had stayed away from the Divergent Series all this time even when it was the best-seller and the movie came out. Having read a shelf-full of dystopian YA series like the Selection, Star-crossed, Percy Jackson, Fallen Star, Talented..I could go on but you get the gist. However, I could not keep ignoring it especially since my Sci-fi film addict husband kept hinting about watching the movie. See, I have this OCD-esque obession or compulsion or disorder (diagnosis still in progress)  that I need to read a book before I see the movie (And later on complain about how the book was better, much to the annoyance of my dear husband 😛 ) So I got the book as well the DVD from the local library and read the book in one sitting on Friday night.

Divergent is a book that manages to hold a few things in the back, enough to keep you wanting to go further into the story. It does not do any good to try to stay away since curiosity wins as always. I found Divergent similar to the Hunger Games in most aspects. One has factions, the other divisions. Both have a ‘choosing ceremony’ which decides the fate of the heroine in both the series. And there always is a revolution of sorts in every story. Of course the story is different. In Divergent the main character Tris is strong but is unaware of it. She is unaware of a lot of things since her faction/family doesn’t allow to ask questions. In fact the faction -Abnegation, where Tris and her brother Caleb come from, does not believe in sharing all about the choosing ceremony and other factions with the young ones, which is a tad bit annoying actually. So much so that the kids don’t even know the factions that their parents come from. But then in each story there is something like this and you just have to accept and move on with the story.

As in every other dystopian YA series, the world that Veronica Roth creates is quite interesting. It was intriguing to know about all the factions, their living styles, clothes they wear, where they reside, etc. Made me wonder about the faction that I would have been in (I cannot belong to any one. I’ll have to be um..what Tris and Four are!).   But the interesting factor and the originality ends here. For me it was quite predictable with the rebellion and revolution theme going on currently. I could easily guess what the story was going to be about few characters – Tris’ mom, Four, Al.

But all in all, I enjoyed the story and I would definitely recommend it if you enjoy reading about dystopian worlds. Also, I didn’t know what Divergent meant so it made the story a li’l bit mysterious to me. It’s fast paced and keeps you wanting for more. I rate this book a 4 out of 5.

And now it’s time to mock the movie 😉

My favourite quote from the book –

“I want to be brave, and selfless, and smart, and kind, and honest” – Four

2 thoughts on “Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. Pingback: Allegiant by Veronica Roth | Dreaming Wordz

  2. Pingback: Insurgent by Veronica Roth | Dreaming Wordz

Leave a Reply

