Reign (An Unfortunate Fairy Tale Book 4) -Chanda Hahn

Reign_ChandaHahn

Book Name: Reign (An Unfortunate Fairy Tale #4)

Author: Chanda Hahn

Pages: 281

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

My Rating: 5 out of 5

Format: Kindle eBook

Goodreads’ Words: Going to the Fae plane against Jared’s orders has cost Mina dearly. Her decision continues to haunt her as a new danger surfaces. The Grimms are fading. To save her family’s future, Mina Grime will have to travel to the past with the help of her Fae Godmother and a magic pair of shoes. She must go to where the Story first began, to the beginning of the dark prince’s reign. But can she finish her quest before her time runs out or will she be trapped in the past forever?

My Words: I read the first book “Ünenchanted” last year on iBooks on my first generation iPad ;| It was free but the premise was exciting. Since I am a self-proclaimed 16 year old inside a…let’s say a grown up person ;), I immediately jumped upon the chance for a rendezvous in the fairy-tale land. Since then I have read the next book in this as well as the complete “Iron Butterfly Series” and its safe to say that I am a big of Chanda Hahn. It was not a surprise then that I had pre-ordered the 4th book – Reign.

The 4th installment in the unfortunate fairy tale series is an amazing rollercoaster ride with quite a few unexpected twists and this is saying something since I hate roller coasters!

Mina’s journey since she left the fae world behind in the 3rd book takes her back to the roots where it all began – the past. She is finally able to understand how it all happened then – right from the inception of the grimoire to how it gets split and how the fair fae Prince turns dark. And most important of all why this happens or rather who is responsible for all this to happen. This was a googly for me coz I would never have imagined the culprit to be the one who is 😉 and this makes me admire Chanda’s imagination and story-building prowess even more.

The quest presented this time is the most exciting one according to me. It has been meshed with the time travel story very well while intricately weaving the story of Ever and the fairy godmother too. I really like where the author is taking the storyline. Oh and I wish I had a friend like Nan and I too would choose her as my one 🙂

Somehow I don’t know exactly why, I had thought this was going to be the last one in the series. I am glad it’s not the last and am excited for more. But it leaves me impatient for the next book to be on the pre-order list. And I can’t wait to see how Mina is going to get Jared out of Teague coz I am assuming that she won’t kill both of them.

The extra story of Jared’s quest for the pre-orders is a cherry on top. I loved it. It may not be the best quest but it’s a little bit of Jared for you since I’m sure many will miss him in the 4th book.

The final verdict is I highly recommend this book and obviously can’t wait for the next one to come out.

Leave a Reply

